Life is a story of meetings and emotions ...

XRbyFace_a-PhotoRoom

Dial : Parasol Pine (Pinus pinea)

Collection : 36 examples of tree.

Dimensions : Ø 41mm

Materials : Canson paper 410 g/m2. Schmincke and Rowney watercolor paint. Raphaël Kolinsky brushes.

photo credit : Tristan da Cunha

Miniature painting

There is no “small” Art … but an Art of the small!

The desire to perceive the world in miniature has undoubtedly influenced his career path and the symbol is there: for 20 years he designed and painted artificial irises adapted to the needs of patients in an ocularist’s laboratory, before becoming an art craftsman to reproduce the fruit of his own gaze caressing the world through the prism of the infinitely small.

photo credit : Tristan da Cunha

MANUFACTO

In 2018, he created his company named Manufacto and succeeded in the challenge of meeting the requirements of the Luxury industry by making watch dials for Haute Horlogerie.

He wields the binocular and the finest brushes in the world to transcribe what cannot be seen with the naked eye and uses oil paint, watercolor and a paint with a glazing technique specially developed for watchmaking, on mother-of-pearl, glass, precious metals, metallic surfaces or even grand feu enamel.

My father's slides

Childhood memories

Fascinated by this discipline, and anxious to give it back its letters of nobility in our modern world, he went so far as to reproduce a series of childhood memories from slides found in the family archives… and the audience was won over. Who does not have the nostalgia of these evenings of projection on a white linen sheet, improvised screen for this parade of images, so many intimate memories!

We can only underline this astonishing mutation realized in a little more than a generation: at the time these small rectangles of film were enlarged to be viewed in private sessions. Today, selfies and other emotions frozen in the snapshot of shots relayed on Instagram are viewed in “smartphone screen” format as soon as the opportunity arises in our hectic daily lives.

marlonbrando.manufacto-6ro9jnabnlcks2wl4wt9tezwcc3t2xjx2pij3jyjqhs
Marlon Brando

The ancestor of photo booth

As he himself points out, “the miniature is a derivative of medieval illumination and its appearance in the sixteenth century for portraiture can be considered the ancestor of the photo booth.”

coccinelle.manufacto-6zd8cwl3tahneomw0tbcb1kqd1ceqhg6r91l777e02o
Cocinnellle on mother of pearl

EXPLORING THE MICRO AND MACRO

History (of art) is an eternal restart….

The torch is taken up again and the art of miniature seems to have a new future.

La vie est une histoire de rencontres et d’émotions ...

XRbyFace_a-PhotoRoom

Cadran Pin Parasol (Pinus pinea)

Collection : 36 exemples d’arborescence.

Dimensions : Ø 41mm

Matériaux : Papier Canson 410 g/m2. Peinture aquarelle Schmincke et Rowney. Pinceaux Raphaël Kolinsky.

crédit photo : Tristan da Cunha

La peinture miniature

Il n’y a pas de « petit » Art …mais bien un Art du petit !

Le désir de percevoir le monde en miniature a sans nul doute influencé son parcours professionnel et le symbole est là : pendant 20 ans il a conçu et peint des iris artificiels adaptés aux besoins de patients d’un laboratoire d’oculariste, avant de devenir artisan d’art pour reproduire le fruit de son propre regard caressant le monde par le prisme de l’infiniment petit.

crédit photo : Tristan da Cunha

MANUFACTO

En 2018, il crée sa société baptisée Manufacto et réussit le pari de répondre aux exigences de l’industrie du Luxe en réalisant des cadrans de montre pour la Haute Horlogerie.

Il manie le binoculaire et les pinceaux les plus fins du monde pour transcrire ce qui ne se voit pas à l’œil nu et utilise la peinture à l’huile, l’aquarelle et une peinture avec une technique de glacis spécialement développée pour l’horlogerie, sur nacre, verre, métaux précieux, surfaces métalliques ou encore l’émail grand feu.

Les diapos de mon père

Souvenirs d'enfance

Fasciné par cette discipline, et soucieux de lui redonner ses lettres de noblesse dans notre Monde moderne il a été jusqu’à reproduire une série de souvenirs d’enfance à partir de diapositives retrouvées dans les archives familiales… et le public a été conquis. Qui n’a pas la nostalgie de ces soirées de projection sur un drap en lin blanc, écran improvisé pour ce défilé d’images, autant de souvenirs intimes !

On ne peut que souligner cette étonnante mutation réalisée en un peu plus d’une génération : à l’époque ces petits rectangles de pellicules étaient agrandis pour être visionnés en séance privée. Aujourd’hui, les selfies et autres émotions figées dans l’instantané de clichés relayés sur Instagram sont consultés en format « écran de smartphone » dès que l’occasion se présente dans nos quotidiens agités.

marlonbrando.manufacto-6ro9jnabnlcks2wl4wt9tezwcc3t2xjx2pij3jyjqhs
Marlon Brando

L'ancètre du photomaton

Comme il le souligne lui-même, « la miniature est un dérivé de l’enluminure médiévale et son apparition au XVIe siècle pour la réalisation de portraits peut être considérée comme l’ancêtre du photomaton. »

coccinelle.manufacto-6zd8cwl3tahneomw0tbcb1kqd1ceqhg6r91l777e02o
Cocinnellle sur nacre

EXPLORER LE MICRO ET LE MACRO

L’Histoire (de l’art) est un éternel recommencement….

Le flambeau est repris et l’art de la miniature semble avoir un nouvel avenir tout tracé.