Life is a story of encounters and emotions. I was impressed by Gabriel Colliard’s singular sensitivity and innovation in the practice of his art, from the composition of new colors to the discovery of new subtle effects.

 

Dial : Yellow macaw, red macaw

Collection : Nature

Dimensions : Ø 41mm

Materials : Enamel powder (metal oxides), flux, essential oils.

Miniature painting on enamel

There is a temporality in my work that allows me to deepen the meaning of my approach.”

After graduating in Fine Arts at the National University of Cordoba in Argentina, Gabriel Colliard discovered watchmaking by working as a polisher. He then became passionate about the art of enamelling.

After training as an enamel artist in Limoges, he worked for 10 years in luxury watchmaking before becoming an independent artisan and being able to fully express his sensitivity and creativity in his works.

Acrylic painting on canva (close-up view). 1,70 m x 1,20 m. Gabriel Colliard

Arts and structure

For Gabriel Colliard, Plastic arts must emerge from a significant structural order. In his paintings, he uses the shape of a «triangle», which he converts into a frame module to obtain, with simple changes of orientation, a different perception. This process led to his interest in pre-Columbian abstraction.

Acrylic painting on canva. 1,70 m x 1,20 m. Gabriel Colliard
Close-up view

Playing with light

Gabriel Colliard uses his experience in painting restoration to play on the subtlety and brightness of colors. The «Trateggio» process consists in juxtaposing pure colours into a network of very fine verticals uniformly placed on a white putty to obtain the same colour and tone values. Line by line, a perceptible and changing surface appears. The chromatic turns into a set of simultaneous contrasts that give body to a vibrant frame.

« Façade à Paris », pencil drawing on paper. 0,80 m x 0,60 m. Gabriel Colliard
« Façade », painting on copper

Put to the test by fire

 An infinity of nuances can be obtained with miniature painting on enamel. Vitrifiable paints are kneaded together with essential oil to obtain an oily paste. The colour setting is done by successively applying gradually accentuated shades, interspersed with firings. During the last firing, all or part of the art risks to be irreparably erased from the base. The piece fully reveals itself only once cooled.

"Poli-mat" painted enamel on copper

Enamel: an art of a thousand faces

Cloisonné, painted, champlevé, and paillonné… Gabriel Colliard admirably masters all facets of the age-old know-how of enamelling. However, he does not limit this art to traditional techniques and processes, and keeps exploring new possibilities: some of his pieces have a polished-matt surface effect, that is obtained by reworking by hand the fondant protecting the artwork.

La vie est une histoire de rencontres et d’émotions. Composition de nouvelles teintes, découverte de nouveaux effets subtils de couleurs... J'ai été séduit par la sensibilité singulière et l’innovation dont Gabriel Colliard fait preuve dans la pratique de son art.

XRby_GabrielColliard_FondBlanc

 

Cadran : Ara jaune, Ara rouge

Collection : La nature

Dimensions : Ø 41mm

Matériaux : émail (oxydes métalliques en poudre), fondant, huiles essentielles.

La peinture miniature sur émail

« Il y a une temporalité inscrite dans mon travail qui me permet d’approfondir le sens de ma démarche »

Diplômé des Beaux-Arts de l’Université Nationale de Cordoba en Argentine, Gabriel Colliard découvre le milieu horloger en travaillant comme polisseur, puis se passionne pour l’art de l’émaillage.

Aprés une formation d’émailleur d’art sur métaux à Limoges, il a exercé son savoir-faire durant 10 ans dans l’Horlogerie de luxe avant de devenir artisan indépendant et d’exprimer toute sa sensibilité et sa créativité dans ses œuvres.

Peinture acrylique sur toile (extrait). 1,70 m x 1,20 m. Gabriel Colliard

Art et structure

Pour Gabriel Colliard, les arts plastiques doivent surgir d’un ordre structurel significatif. Dans ses peintures, il utilise la forme d’un « triangle », qu’il convertit en module de trames afin d’obtenir, avec de simples changements d’orientation, une perception différente. Ce processus l’a mené à s’intéresser à l’abstraction précolombienne.

Peinture acrylique sur toile. 1,70 m x 1,20 m. Gabriel Colliard
Peinture acrylique sur toile
Vue rapprochée

Jouer la lumière

Gabriel Colliard fait appel à son expérience dans la restauration de tableaux pour jouer sur la subtilité et la luminosité des couleurs. Le procédé « Trateggio » consiste à juxtaposer des couleurs pures en un réseau de verticales très fines et uniformément disposées sur un mastic blanc dans le but d’obtenir la même valeur de couleurs et de tons. Ligne après ligne, une surface perceptible et changeante apparaît. La chromatique tourne en un jeu de contrastes simultanés qui donnent corps à une trame vibrante.

« Façade à Paris », dessin au crayon sur papier. 0,80 m x 0,60 m. Gabriel Colliard
« Façade », peinture sur cuivre réalisée à l'oeil nu

L'art à l'épreuve du feu

La peinture miniature sur émail se fait avec des peintures vitrifiables, préparées au préalables et pétries afin d’obtenir une pâte huileuse. Les nuances que l’on peut obtenir sont pratiquement infinies. La mise en couleur se fait par applications successives de teintes de plus en plus accentuées, intercalées de passages au four. Durant la dernière cuisson, un coup de feu peut effacer irrémédiablement tout ou partie de l’œuvre. Celle-ci ne se dévoile entièrement qu’une fois la pièce refroidie.

« Poli-mat », émail peint sur cuivre

Un Art vivant

Cloisonné, peint, champlevé, et paillonné… Gabriel Colliard maîtrise admirablement toutes les facettes du savoir-faire séculaire de l’émaillage. Pour autant, il ne limite pas cet art qu’aux techniques et procédés traditionnels, et n’hésite pas à explorer de nouvelles possibilités. Certaines de ses pièces présentent un effet de surface poli-mat, obtenu en retravaillant à la main le fondant, couche protectrice de l’œuvre.